Media Release

11 July 2019
IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Aboriginal Community Action Group

An Aboriginal Community Action Group (ACAG) has formed to create a committee of inaugural Aboriginal leaders for the Port Pirie Regional Council area.

This committee will break down significant barriers, represent the local Aboriginal communities and seek grant funding for a range of exciting projects.

The following people have been nominated and accepted as Aboriginal Community Leaders:

- Lillian Crombie
- Marcellus Enalanga
- Anita Lawrence
- Deb Black
- Jenney Alberts
- Rubina Hall
- Sue Schrader

Mayor Leon Stephens and Deputy Mayor Cr Alan Zubrinich have been working with members of the newly formed ACAG through their Regional Collaboration and Economic Development portfolios.

"Now that this committee is established they assure us they will be seeking grant funding for many things such as a Community Youth Centre, employment direction officers, segues to secondary and tertiary education, health advisory and better community cultural programs designed to integrate our communities," Mayor Stephens said.

"Special thanks to all those involved and good luck to this magnificent and courageous group that has put their hands up to be Port Pirie's Aboriginal Community Leaders."

For further information contact:

Belinda Jackson, Communications Executive on tel. 8633 9729 or email communications@pirie.sa.gov.au